First Lines Friday- 12 March 2021

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

This week’s First Lines Friday book is a new 2021 release on my TBR pile, see if you can guess the book!

First Lines


“Somewhere in the night forest, the boy is running. I cannot smell him, like my sister Luma and our cousin Rhys can, his sweat and his fear. But I can hear him, as well as the creak of branches, the rustle of the leaves that stir underfoot. He’s moving from the birch stands onto the pine needles. I can hear the pounding of his blood, the frustrated sob he tries to keep in his mouth as his legs struggle on the unfamiliar ground.”


And the book is…….

What Big Teeth by Rose Szabo!

Goodreads Synopsis: Rose Szabo’s thrilling debut is a dark and thrilling novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls. Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds. Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together — in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her. Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce gothic fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

This 2021 debut novel is actually on my to-read pile for this month! I told myself no more scary books until after the baby comes, but I couldn’t help myself, I’ve been wanting to read this since I first heard about it. I’m sure the nightmares will be worth it though!

Have you already read ‘What Big Teeth’? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply